Find out about the history of Scouting:

World Organization of the Scout Movement website here

UK Scouts website here

Scouting Heritage website here

Jamborees of the Past

UK Chief Scouts and here 

History of the Wood Badge 

The History of Scouting in Falkirk District


The first Scout Groups began to appear in the Falkirk area in 1908 and quickly blossomed. In 1916 Wolf Cubs started allowing younger boys to join and by 1928 there were 21 Groups within the area including 2nd Torwood, 14th Falkirk, 15th Grangemouth,16th Laurieston, 17th Denny, 27th Bonnybridge, 29th Graham’s Road United Free Church(Falkirk), 32nd Banton, 35th Larbert East UF Church, 19th Kilsyth(Garrell), 38th Shieldhill, 40th Christ Church, 42nd James Street Wesleyan Methodist(Falkirk), 43rd Bothkennar, 46th Muiravonside, 47th Cumbernauld, 48th Kilsyth, 52nd Baptist Church (Falkirk), 53rd Carronshore, 54th Stenhouse & Carron and 55th Greenhill & Glenyards.


Initially they were part of Stirlingshire Scouting and organised via a Local Falkirk Association. Over the years there have been many changes in the structure with the Local Falkirk Association being split into Denny & Bonnybridge, Grangemouth and District, Larbert and Falkirk local associations and latterly into Scout Districts. As Scouting is a Movement constantly changing to meet the needs of the young people, girls were allowed to join and the Beaver Scout section started in 1976. Various other re-organisations have taken place over the years - to the age ranges of the sections and to the District boundaries resulting in the current Falkirk Scout District mirroring the local Falkirk Council boundaries.


It is home to over 1,000 Beaver Scouts, Cub Scouts, Scouts, Explorer Scouts and Network Scouts.    We have 3 Groups in Falkirk Town Centre, 3 Groups in Larbert  & Stenhousemuir as well as Groups in Bo’ness, Bonnybridge, Braes area, Camelon, Dennyloanhead, Dunipace, Grangemouth, Laurieston and Torwood


The Scout Groups in the District cater for boys and girls aged from 6 to 14 years of age in the following 3 sections:    

Beaver Scouts (for 6-8 years), Cub Scouts (for 8-10½ years) and Scouts (for 10½-14 years).

Explorer Scouts are for young people aged between 14 and 18, and are run at a District Level. There are currently 9 District Explorer Units including a Young Leaders Unit operating.                                                                                                                                    

The Units are the Altitude, Antonine, 1st Bo'ness, Carron Valley, Cross, Forth & Union, Kinnaird, North Star and Young Leader Units. 


The Phoenix Scout Network unit is open to anyone between the 18 & 25 years.


For those over 25 years we have a Scout Active Support Unit which includes a District Fellowship.